jump to navigation

Exuent Dr. McToogoodforpatients July 17, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Personal Experience.
trackback

Dr. McSurgery, whom I adore, was out of town with a family emergency on the day of my most recent follow-up appointment. His replacement was young, not as cute and certainly lacking in anything remotely resembling bedside manner. After a 2 ½ hour wait (yes, they’re busy, I understand), we were called into the clinic and assigned to a bed where we waited for 18 minutes while the replacement doctor transcribed notes into his telephone without acknowledging us. Now I can understand that if he were facing away, but we were literally sitting about two feet away from him. Not a good start.

When he finally called my name he brought up my x-rays, noted the bones had healed and asked me to remove my aircast boot. The time it took for me to do this was the longest period of time we spent interacting. He briefly fondled my leg (not really touching it, more of a soft petting), where he declared me healed and tried to herd me out the door. If this were a Southern Baptist Revival, I’d have paid my tithe, sung some gospel and headed outside for some barbecue. But the Heather who can hardly stand, let alone imagine walking wasn’t up for it. I called him out and said that my regular surgeon recommended I’d go in for physiotherapy, that he’d said it was a very bad break and I’d need several months of work before I’d be relatively back to normal. Together with my Mom (twin powers activate!) we gave him one of “those” stares reserved for misbehaving pets or when it’s discovered that Dad ate all the Ritz crackers again. It’s deadly.

Dr. McToogoodforpatients relented and gave me a prescription for physiotherapy with the comment of “Now that I’ve had a second look [Really? When you were looking at your shoes, or at the Nurse in the doorway?], I think you really will need more work, uh, let me get this prescription done.” We left shortly after, and I must note that I’ve never crutched faster in my life. Anger is an excellent motivator.

EDITED TO ADD: I hobbled into (ran into doesn’t really work under these circumstances) Dr. McSurgery at the airport this week while waiting for Dad’s flight. I told him I’d made a follow up appointment to see him after my bad experience with his replacement, and we spent about 10 minutes discussing my concerns. Yes, he agreed that I’d definitely need several months of physiotherapy, plus additional follow-up appointments. We talked about managing pain, controlling swelling and how to ease myself into going without the aircast some days. It was one of those great kismet moments, and I’ve never been happier to have to pick Dad up at the airport. Even if he has been known to eat all the crackers and then try to blame it on me (Yes, this actually happened).

Comments»

1. Nodrog - August 7, 2006

Oh, Hplar. Will you ever learn?

2. Ric - June 22, 2007

Being in a cast can really be a pain, often as the cast gets old it gets dirty and unsightly. I was in a cast once and I always wished I could change the color and have it made new again. Often the doctor won’t give you the time of day to make the cast look new again. But I found a site that sells casting tape and I just added a few roll right over the top of my exisisting cast. Now I can change the color to what ever I want. If it gets really dirty I just add a roll of casting tape over top of the old and it looks brand new again.
here is the site if you are interested:
http://www.suppliescentral.net

3. I FEEL YOU AND ENVY YOU!........ - January 6, 2009

REALLY!!!

CAN WE EXCHANGE NAMES MAYBE IS THE SAME DR….LOL

****SEE MY COMMENT (WHOLE STORY) ON CODE RED…

4. best spine surgeon - February 26, 2014

Generally I don’t read article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up
very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing
style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite nice article.

5. hair loss in women - March 4, 2014

Follicular unit hair loss treatment men reviews transplantation
is a treatment wherein a patch is taken from the patient’s nape.
Here are some hair loss treatment men reviews hair loss treatments
like wigs, hair pieces, hair weaves, or artificial hair replacement.
There are certain chemicals present in the market.

6. rhinoplasty - March 11, 2014

All these problems arre dealt in the best possible manner
at the rhinoplasty surgical centers in Beverly Hills.

I was like, okay it feels credible but I was yett not
very persuaded. Some ave likened to the sstuffy feeling of a bad head
cold.

7. evasi0n 7.1 beta 3 download - June 27, 2014

Hey! Do you know iif thwy make any pllugins to help withh Search Engine Optimization? I’m trying to get mmy bblog to rank for
some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
If you know of any pplease share. Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

