jump to navigation

The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Hobbler July 2, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Personal Experience.
trackback

Tempted by an offer of quiche, muffins and lascivious conversation, I trekked over to Tom and Don’s apartment yesterday afternoon. They only live a few blocks away, so normally this walk would take me about five minutes at most, three if there’s Chaka Kahn on the ‘Pod.

Were I Terminator II-era Linda Hamilton or in possession of 27” Hulk Hogan-esque pythons, I’m sure that long-distance hobbling would be OK. Sadly, lifting my body weight with my back and shoulders to land on one leg is very tiring and I was forced to hobble along at a glacial pace. How slowly was I moving? I was passed by an elderly couple with canes.

It ended up taking me 17 minutes to reach my destination, and that was with Don coming out of the apartment, worried and looking for me. Relieved that I hadn’t been flattened by the Tally-Ho, he praised me for how well I was doing on the crutches. The mark of a good friendship is in knowing when to lie to a friend in need. The mark of a great friendship is when I believe him.

Comments»

1. Nodrog - July 25, 2006

I’d lie to you too, you know! I’d lie better than Don could!

2. Cindy the Cripple - August 13, 2006

Ah, your blog is cracking me up! It takes me FOREVER to move about with my broken ankle, unfortunately no one lies to me about this. People just get this pitying, worried look on their faces, and one guy yelled out, “Don’t lean on your crutches like that! You could paralyze your arms!” Thank goodness for the instantly gratifying internet filled with witty posts (and the continued use of my as yet non-paralyzed arms).


Leave a Reply

