jump to navigation

Fashion Adjustments June 21, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Personal Experience.
trackback

I have more than 50 pairs of shoes. In this collection, I’d say about 10 of them are flat (or reasonably close to being flat). Because I’m not quite stupid enough to try and use crutches in heels, I’ve had to expand my wardrobe to include a few more pairs of flat shoes. On an afternoon at Hillside Centre, I found two great pairs that have quickly proven themselves to be crutch-friendly footwear.

The keys to crutch-friendly footwear are arch support & rubber soles. You might have the cutest little slides, but if they don’t have rubber on the bottom, you’ll quickly end up on your ass.

The other change I’ve had to make is in the purse department. Clutches, handbags and briefcase bags are out. So is anything meant to be carried over a shoulder (it bangs into my crutches). I’ve had to switch to a shoulder bag that I can slide over the small of my back or carry in front. Fortunately, I was able to barter with my friend Amy for her very cute velvet bag. It’s perfect and means that I don’t have to completely admit defeat and use a fanny pack. Repeat after me: fanny pack = social suicide. Say it. Learn it. Live it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

