jump to navigation

Onecrutch.com: You’ve got to be kidding me. June 11, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Resources.
trackback

According to the contextual ads in my gmail account, it appears that Google is looking to capitalize on my convalescence. Bully for them, I suppose. The first week was a series of ads about sending flowers (how thoughtful!), that have now given way to two of my newest very favourite online retailers. One is the purveyor of the most niche-marketed product since the outboard motor cozy. I’m convinced the other is trying to kill me.

Onecrutch.com and their eponymous product promise to free my hand for other tasks! If the animated graphic on their website is any indication, these tasks will likely include grabbing helplessly at family/coworkers/nearby shrubbery as I fall to the unforgiving pavement below. A combination crutch and knee rest, the onecrutch allows me to lift up my injured leg with my arm, as I walk confidently with my other leg. While I’d appreciate the ability to be able to hold a cup while I hobble along, I’m just not sure it’s really feasible. Plus, the fact that the only demonstration of their product is an animated gif and not a video of a real person makes me even more wary. EDIT: There’s a video up, and while it only shows short clips of a guy using the onecrutch, he seems quite capable. He doesn’t seem to actually have an injured leg (what? no realism?!) so I stand by my previous statement of disbelief.

UPDATE:  Tonight’s contextual Google ad for the OneCrutch was “Ouch, Broken Leg?”  My first shout out!  Woo!  It appears that at the very least, blogging can inspire better advertising, if not a better product.  

Comments»

1. Tony Owens - June 23, 2006

Hello, I am the inventor of the oneCrutch and I would like to comment. First, I have no control where Google places my ads. They generally show up on websites that contain “broken leg” context. Second, the video was made after my recovery, so I don’t have my “fixator” on. Also, it took some time to improve the “oneCrutch” that I was using while injured, it was somewhat cobbled together. The product we sell now is professionally manufactured in the USA and we hope to have better videos of it in action soon. By the way, we have had some VERY positive response from folks who have used it, as well as some not so positive. I can share these if you like.
Thank you

2. Ouch, my leg! (the broken ankle blog) » The OneCrutch.com - Followup and Offer - June 26, 2006

[…] The creator of the OneCrutch has discovered this website and posted a reply to my previous post on his product. He confirms (as I suspected) that he wasn’t injured when they made the video, but that a new video is in the works. I’m glad to hear that he’s willing to share positive and not-so-positive feedback about his product, and would like to extend an offer to personally review the OneCrutch. […]

3. Joan - March 2, 2009

I have used a OneCrutch for the past few weeks, and I gotta say, I love it. Okay, I’m not in great physical condition, but even using two crutches, it was great for me. After awakening some long-slumbering muscles, I have now used it to get to the washroom in the middle of the night, so I don’t have to put on my boot with its many velcro closures. My husband is a light sleeper, and taking it off would wake him for sure, so it has had marital benefits as well! Way thumbs up for the OneCrutch!


Leave a Reply

