jump to navigation

The First Cut is the Wrongest June 10, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Uncategorized.
trackback

My only memory of Dr. McSurgery on the morning of my procedure involved him walking up to my gurney and signing my calf with his initials. I later found out from a nurse that all surgeons are required to do this before going into the OR. Once the patient is prepped and on the table, the anesthesiologist has to see the initials on the area for operation or the surgeon is not allowed to cut. It’s a good safeguard, I only wonder why they had to start the policy in the first place.

Comments»

1. Carol - March 8, 2009

I wondered the same thing… and put the answer on my blog: http://northwestladybug.blogspot.com/2009/01/whoscoap-surgical-checklist-system-for.html

2. Lee Anne - October 27, 2011

Haha I wondered what the wrting I see peaking out of my cast means… the MC makes so much sense now…lol


Leave a Reply

