jump to navigation

Post Secret June 2, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Personal Experience, Resources.
trackback

The hardest part of this injury so far has been in accepting the limits of my own body. I'm a very independent person; I've lived away from home since I was 17, I'm career-minded, driven, focused. I trot down the pre-made dinner aisle in the grocery store in my 4 inch heels, buy my cat food and my single person pizza (aka “spinster wheels”) without shame or regret. I work, pay my bills, feed & love two cats, and most of the time, I do just fine managing things on my own. so what I'm about to say is quite possibly more painful than the break itself.

I can't do it alone.

Admitting that there are things I just can't do for myself right now has been really really hard to do. For the first few days, I could barely move myself from the bathroom to my bed, let alone think about showering, or making food for myself. Even now, two weeks later, it's hard for me to comprehend how I could manage things like laundry or grocery shopping on my own. In this rare instance the fall must cometh before the pride. Fortunately I have a very supportive network of friends and family who can help me if I ask, and require only a modicum of thanks/bribes/malt-derived alcoholic beverages as leverage.

But, if you think this means I'm going to date anyone who wears dress pants with dirty runners just to have a guy around to hold back the shower curtain,you're crazy. I don't care if he's really sweet and looks a little like Rupert Everett standing in a dark room (if you squint the right way). It's not happening.

Unless he's got a car. Then we'll talk.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

