jump to navigation

To sleep, perchance to… May 30, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Personal Experience.
trackback

On a scale of bodily harm, I'd say a broken ankle rates somewhere around a 6. If it's a multiple break that requires surgery (as mine did) then it's maybe a 6.5. It's serious, sure, painful, yes and requires a lot of time to heal and regain strength. But, then again it's not really life threatening, and considerably lower on the gore scale than say, a cam shaft to the chest or a nail gun to the face. For me, it's my first real serious injury and aside from a bike accident in sixth grade where I broke my front teeth, I have nothing to compare it to for pain and experience.

Oddly, my body is reacting to this injury with the same can-do spirit it applies to colds, flu and sinus infections. In short – I'm asleep all the time. It's not just the painkillers and sedatives (although they help a bit, I'm sure). Almost as soon as I'm awake I'm thinking about when I get to sleep again. I've had a bit of an armistice with the internets,and it seems that it agrees with me. Your body heals itself faster when you're asleep than when you're awake. I believe it's a similar logic to “We're fighting 'em over there, so we don't have to fight 'em here.” Or whatever. I'm tired.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

