jump to navigation

You have failed me for the last time, Commander Internets. May 29, 2006

Posted by ouchmyleg in Personal Experience.
trackback

Hey there. I'm Heather, I'm 27, and almost exactly a week ago (give or take an hour) I broke my ankle in a freak hugging-related accident. Yes, seriously.

Being bedridden affords a tech-savvy girl like myself a fair amount of time to research her injury on-line. Usually these forays return exotic fruits of internet deliciousness, but not this time. In between exaggerated accounts of extreme sports injuries and eBay auctions for lightly-used memory foam pillows, I couldn't seem to find what I really wanted: an honest account from an actual person of what to expect when you break your leg.

So, here's my story. I plan to update this blog for at least the next six to eight weeks or until I can wear high heels again. Hopefully you'll enjoy it, and if you're lucky enough to have a similar injury, you'll find some information and resources that'll help.

My First Tip: When you're planning to break your ankle, always wear white cowboy boots. They'll help you out more than you know.

But more on that later.

Comments»

1. Mr WordPress - May 29, 2006

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

2. 499086 Blog Verification - May 29, 2006

499086 Blog Verification…

499086…

3. Marcel - June 1, 2006

Just wanted to pass along our best wishes for a speedy recovery from the team at Suburbia. Get well, stay out off the bottle!

See you soon,

Suburbia

4. Arvin - July 27, 2007

Hi, sorry to hear about your leg/ankle. I will be interested to hear how it progresses. Last Dec. I fell 15 ft onto the froozen ground both leg bones on my right leg were broken and several ankle bone breaks. I have much metal and screws in that leg. Its been a long arduos recovery, 5 months PT. I have recovered about 70% use. I’ve had everything from a Dyna splints to ultra sound.
Still very stiff and numbness in the foot.
You fortunately are much younger so your recovery should go faster.


Leave a Reply

